Thought Provoking #7

Posted: December 1, 2012 in Living Out Loud, Personal Growth, Quotes that Heal
Tags: , ,

howuliving

I’m always reflective during this time of the year. I tend to quiet myself with a mental assessment of the current year and what I’d like to do differently in the New Year, or better yet, how I can challenge myself.  I outgrew the resolution roller coaster in my 30s. For me, it’s a waste of energy and too much pressure.  You know, the “I’m going to lose 20 lbs, exercise more, stop swearing, save more money, go to the gas station before the gas light comes on..”

What I do instead — I ask God for things.  Not things in a material sense but things that I feel I need to be a better person.  For example, last year I asked for DISCIPLINE.  Like many of you I procrastinate. The year before that I asked for BALANCE.  You get the idea.  Every year I ask for something else.

So am I more disciplined and balanced than I was before I asked for those things?  At times I am. When I find myself falling off the wagon I simply restate my vision and keep one foot in front of the other.

How are you living?

I'd love to read your comments

