Life – Why The Road Curves

Posted: October 9, 2012 in Depression, Living Out Loud, Love & Relationships, Personal Growth
Tags: , , ,

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.   – 1st Corinthians 10:13 (NIV)

This bible verse has saved my sanity! When I first read it many years ago, I recall making the statement “If God doesn’t give us more than we can bear – he must think the world of me.”

I use to be an excessive worrier. I worried to the point of losing sleep. I worried so much I developed irritable bowel syndrome. I’m sure you’re aware, the things we worry about never seem to happen and the things that happen unexpectedly are things we probably wouldn’t have worried about in the first place.

The next time you’re out driving in your car think about this, “Why do the roads curve?” “Why can’t roads all be straight?” In every city the streets go up and down or around corners. Those curved roads are a great metaphor for life.

My six year marriage was tumultuous. In the midst of my marriage crisis when I was down and really beating up on myself I remember asking, “Why didn’t I see this coming?” My mentor said, “Because you would not have been able to handle it before now.” She said, “That’s why the road curves. It provides us with the opportunity to take in a little at a time. As we move forward, covering more ground, a little more is revealed to us.”

(Looking at this picture, we don’t know what’s beyond the curve)

That’s how Life works. It’s a process! It gives us what we can handle in small doses, even when we think we’re able to handle more. It’s called the Grace of God. He will not give you more than He thinks you can handle at any one time. Each time we face a challenge, obstacle or difficulty, we learn what we CAN and CANNOT do. No matter what we do, it’s the best we can do under the given circumstances with the information we have at the time. When it’s time to do something different, we will.

Wherever you find yourself is exactly where you need to be.

Deepak Chopra, who at times is a little too deep even for me, said in © The Book of Secrets,
“Whatever relationships you have attracted into your life at any given time, are the relationships you need to be in at that time. When you’re ready to do a new thing, in a new way, you will do it, with new people.”

I read more and more about people who are waiting for their soul mates and loves of their lives, frantically hunting and searching. Realize today that there are people waiting for who you are becoming right now. Chances are you’re not ready to meet them today but have faith because you will, but only when it’s time. Until then, honor your process. Think of how fabulous you’ll be when the time does come.

The road curves for a reason. It’s a process and now when life throws me a curve I smile and say, “If God thinks I can handle it. Who am I to second guess Him?”

Comments
  1. WH says:

    Beautiful thoughts! Back when I was searching for my soul mate–I was not much of a waiter–I used to think I wouldn’t find him until I was a person who deserved him, so I kept struggling to be a better me much faster than God was ready to grow me. Then I realized that no one is a finished product. Instead of finding someone who was “perfect”, I decided to look for someone who could grow with me, who had the same God understanding I did, and who would be there for the curves. When I made that transition, it wasn’t long before he was there.

    • WH: Wow, “No One is a Finished product” I could write an entire blog on that line alone. It’s so true. We are imperfectly perfect. I have to agree with you that finding someone to ‘grow’ with you is what its all about. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. It’s appreciated.

  2. Raunak says:

    Reblogged this on doakonsult and commented:
    A wonderful and profound view on the state of our being and leveraging our present to build a better tomorrow. The line “Wherever you find yourself is exactly where you need to be.” says it all. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and hope you do too. As always, comments welcomed.

    • You are too kind. I’m glad that you were touched by it. It’s an old piece that I wrote some time ago and pulled it out of the archives, but the message is never stale. Thanks again.

  3. Raunak says:

    awesome!awesome!awesome.
    I can relate to every word of this post.

I'd love to read your comments

