The New Fall TV Season

Posted: October 8, 2012 in Television
Tags: , , ,

There are certainly some new shows on television, as well as some returning favorites that I’m indulging in. Let’s talk comedy first. The New Normal by Glee Producer, Ali Adler tops my new comedy list. The casting is great and veteran actress Ellen Barkin makes the show. Her off-colored remarks add so much to this show. I read that 9 more episodes have been ordered. Yay!

NBC’s Revolution reportedly has already been picked up for another season. Thank goodness because it’s a great show. After NBC failed miserably with The Event starring Blair Underwood, they’ve certainly redeemed themselves with Revolution. The show follows a group of survivors 15 years after the power went out all over the globe.

ABC’s 666 Park Avenue might not make it. I love supernatural dramas and there’s enough intrigue on this show to keep it on. It was announced recently that Whoopi Goldberg will be joining the cast. The show opened to low ratings but if you’re a fan of the supernatural I say give it a chance.

ABC definitely has a hit with Last Resort, starring Andre Braugher. At first I thought it was a series for men. The premise: A renegade crew of a nuclear submarine led by Braugher go AWOL after defying an order to fire nuclear missiles. I’m loving this show.

I watched the pilot on CBS for Made in Jersey and while there was something a little appealing about the lead character, Martina Garretti played by actress Janet Montgomery, my prediction is this show will not make it. Can a small-town Jersey girl succeed in her high-powered law career in the big city? I can’t quite put my finger on why this show doesn’t work. It just doesn’t.

Another NBC show that I watched twice was Guys With Kids. This is the new comedy from comedian/talk show host Jimmy Fallon. It was just okay for me. I giggled a few times but I didn’t watch a third time.

I’m looking forward to Nashville which premieres on ABC October 10th. I think it will be a great show to watch with lots of juicy drama. I love Connie Britton. Her time last season on American Horror Story was great. For me this show is like Carrie Underwood vs. Faith Hill or Taylor Swift verses Reba McIntyre. At least that’s what the rumor mill is alluding to. I’m sure there’s no truth to the rumors but it has people excited nonetheless.

I’m sure there are many more good shows that I’m missing but I have my personal favorites such as Scandal, Revenge, Criminal Minds, American Horror Story, Grey’s Anatomy, Person of Interest, 2 Broke Girls, and Mike & Molly. There’s only so much time in one week.

What are some of your favorites?

Comments
  1. Raunak says:

    Ads for Nashville flash across my kindle screen all day long!

I'd love to read your comments

